RSS

ISS spotted!

02 Sep

Writing this on the phone, so I won’t be writing much. Scarlett and I spotted the international space station tonight. It rose in the northeastern sky around 9:00, looking like a very bright star moving rather quickly up the sky, then almost directly overhead, before fading out in the Earth’s umbra. I did catch it with the scope, but it was moving so fast that I couldn’t see any details. This is the first time Scarlett and I had seen the satellite, so that was pretty cool – we shared a first moment. =)

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 2, 2011 in Astronomy

 

2 responses to “ISS spotted!

  1. teamzuhl

    September 2, 2011 at 10:50 pm

    Very cool! I love spotting the ISS when it goes by!

     
    • esforbes

      September 6, 2011 at 9:53 pm

      I’m going to try and make a regular thing out of this with Scarlett. She’s so into this it’s awesome – she keeps telling me she wants to be an astronomer when she grows up – I know that probably won’t happen (she’s 6 after all and kids change their minds as they grow up) but this stuff is really impressing upon her. It’s great =)

       

Leave a Reply

 
