RSS

Vyvanse day 1

02 Sep

Yesterday, I saw Dr. Fermo at East Cooper Psychiatric Solutions for the second time, and (after last week’s therapy session) he decided to prescribe me two meds: a very low dose of bipolar medication called Latuda, and an ADHD medication called Vyvanse. My co-worker, who referred me to Dr. Fermo in the first place, is also on Vyvanse, and has given it a glowing review. This post will be my account of my first day.

8:30 am: Took my Vyvanse dose for the day. About an hour after I began to feel… something. I experienced a very, very slight shaking in my hands, and felt pent up, feeling an impending explosion of energy in my muscles, particularly my arms and legs. My co-workers walked with me to the gas station up the street, and I felt like sprinting the whole way. I didn’t, but instead talked an awful lot. E told me Adderall was like that (and from what I understand of Vyvanse, it’s like time-release Adderall) and that it’d taper off as I became accustomed to the meds.

10:30 am: My energy level is still high, but it’s deeper within me than it usually is. The explosive feeling is still there, but it’s under control, and I’m almost effortlessly able to focus on one task. Case in point: I had been rather slack lately in committing my code changes to the source repository, so I worked on that – and in about 15 minutes I had built a change log for all the code changes I’d done since August 10th. That was a lot of changes, and ordinarily I probably would have stopped a quarter of the way in and read some Google Reader feeds, or some Facebook posts, or whatever. Instead, I just worked on what I wanted to work on. There were distractions – J came by and, in usual J fashion, talked my ear off. When he was done, I went right back to work, picking up where I’d left off without any difficulty, whereas yesterday I’d have had to read back over what I’d just done to get back on my train. As for mood: I’m happy, but not over the top. This is going to be a good day I think.

11:00 am: The ‘Fox News Team’ in the cubes behind me have been chatting all morning, and it just occurred to me that I have no idea what they’re talking about. They AREN’T DISTRACTING ME! This is huge – I’ve NEVER been able to tune out unrelated conversations! I usually have to stop working at least three or four times a day simply because I can’t concentrate due to my lovely cube-farm neighbors, but now? Imagine what I’ll be capable of now that I can concentrate! MWAHAHAHAAA!

12:00 pm: The ‘explosive energy’ feeling has pretty much passed. I’ve been working on actual work for most of the day, and every time I take a little break to do something else (like write in this blog post, or talk on Facebook) I get this nagging feeling in my head that I still have work to do… I think I may actually have a work ethic, that maybe was a bit hidden by my inability to focus. Is that possible? I don’t know, but it feels right.

12:50 pm: Noticed my palms are sweaty. I don’t feel hot at all – comfortable, actually – yet my palms are sweating. That could be a side effect, or it could be a result of the fact that I’ve had my hands pretty much glued to the keyboard this entire time!

Well it’s 1:05 pm, and I’m about to head home from work. I’d say this initial experience was highly positive, and that I’ve gotten more done today than I have most of this week. I’m happy, I’m productive, and I think this is going to be the start of something very, very good!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 2, 2011 in Personal Development

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Vyvanse day 1

  1. zadel11

    September 2, 2011 at 1:31 pm

    yay! i am so happy that u can concentraite on things better now. this is great news. yay erik!

     
    • esforbes

      September 2, 2011 at 1:53 pm

      Thanks! =) It’s been amazing so far!

       

Leave a Reply

 
