RSS

Travel maybe?

02 Nov

I may be traveling to Dallas for a week in December for training on a piece of software that I’ll be replacing. The training costs something like $2,500 which the company will pay, but I’m supposed to sign an agreement stating that if I leave the company voluntarily, or if I am terminated for a policy violation, then I have to pay the money back. I’m apprehensive about this of course – obligations like this make me nervous.

I’m not thrilled with the idea that I’ll be bound here for another year. Not that I’m planning on leaving – that’s not the issue – but if I do end up wanting to leave, then I have another hurdle in my path. An expensive one.

Training is a good thing, though, right? I can put it on my resume at the very least. What I understand about this training, though, is that it’s for a piece of somewhat antiquated software that isn’t in wide use. That makes the value of said training, well, diminished. (Edit: I was mistaken in my understanding above – use of this software is actually widespread in industry and manufacturing, but support and sales are being discontinued by the parent company in, like, 5 years. The value in this training and certificate is that I will be able to help migrate people to other software, or to help support existing installations that cannot or will not be migrated.) My boss wants to know if I’m good to go as soon as possible so he can make the arrangements.

I’m not really sure what to do, here. Like I said, I’m not planning on leaving the company, but if a much better opportunity comes around I don’t want to have to pass it up just because I’m (effectively) indentured. At the same time, though, this training will lead to about six months of development on a new project – something I’ve been looking forward to for some time. I really like green-field development as it gives me a chance to try out new architectural designs and technology.

Guess I have some thinking to do, and quick.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 2, 2011 in Programming, Work

 

Leave a Reply

 
