RSS

Just can’t stop

16 Dec

I can’t stop thinking about astronomy.

Not an hour goes by, regardless of what I’m doing, when I don’t think about something astronomy-related.

Sometimes, when I’m looking at the stars, I find myself vaguely terrified – the universe is massive, the distances so vast, and the things contained within are almost infinitely complex. Usually this will fade quickly as I try to understand the sudden emotional onslaught, but sometimes it will persist and intensify. When this happens I lose track of time, worldly concerns, bodily needs – for a very brief moment of time, I am consumed by my awe.

Normal people don’t go through this, do they? This feels like more than passion to me – more like borderline obsession. Is it healthy? Maybe a better question – a more useful question – is: Is it unhealthy?

I don’t think so. I hope not, anyway. As I said, I can’t stop thinking about it, and I don’t think I really want to.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 16, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
