RSS

Monday Musings

23 Jan

Monday Musings, on time for a change! =P

Tasha and I had our anniversary day last Saturday, almost 3 and a half months late. =P It was a great day, even if it started off a little late and ended… well, with difficulty.

We intended to leave the house between 10 and 11 in the morning, but a combination of kid interference, distractions, and a lack of direction kept us in the house until about 1pm. By that time, we’d decided we were going to take a trip to the country and visit Tasha’s grandfather’s house. They own some land, and I’ve never seen the place, so there we went – after dropping the girls off with my mom.

We had a great time – Ta showed me through the house, a bunch of family pictures, the workshop (which after some cleaning would be amazing), and then we walked around the property and talked about… Well, a lot of things. =P Childhood memories, future plans, ideas, what-ifs, the weather. I really loved it out there, even when the weather turned rainy. It’s very open, which will be great if I ever get myself a better telescope.

We headed back to civilization around 7-ish or so – to the Azalea Square theater in Summerville to catch the new Sherlock Holmes movie. All I’m going to say on the subject of the movie is that it was awesome, and we loved it. =)

After the movie around 10pm we went to my mom’s house to pick up the girls, then went home. Things went a little downhill after that, unfortunately – drama that I don’t want to get into on the blog. Overall, though, the day was great.

 

The sky has been grey for a while now, and according to Weather.com it’ll continue to be grey until next weekend. There are no stars to be seen in the skies, lately, and that coupled with my equipment frustration has put me in a difficult place when it comes to astronomy.

I feel like I’m in a rut. I haven’t been thinking about the stars lately, almost at all, and I’m beginning to wonder where this is going, and what the point of it is. Yes, the stars and planets and other celestial bodies are amazing to behold, but I can’t help but think to myself that it’s pointless, what I’m doing. I want to buy a $450 telescope so that I can see more – but that $450 could go to car maintenance, or paying down bills, or computer upgrades, or gifts for my family. What benefit will my family get out of a new telescope, other than being able to see pretty lights through it?

I know that’s not really representative of what a telescope is – but I’m hard-pressed to find further justification for such an expense. And the expenses beyond – my plans include everything from buying more eyepieces and filters to many different types and sizes of telescopes – are, from my present point of view, astronomical. How can I use this stuff to make an impact on the world – or at least my family?

The actual question, distilled from all that, is this: How can I turn my love of astronomy from a hobby into a productive endeavor? I’m not talking about money – it’s a means to an end, but I don’t have an end yet. That’s what I’m searching for, and I’ve come up with a few potential ideas that I’ll discuss in further blog posts.

 

Speaking of the blog, I know it’s ironic that my last post – two and a half weeks ago – was a promise to blog more often. Lately I haven’t felt very prolific, and I tend to write rather longish posts (like this one). I know I’m not obligated to write long posts, but sometimes I will reject a post because I can’t think of how to expand upon whatever idea I’m writing about.

I’d like to get over that. I don’t think there should be a minimum size for blog posts, and since it’s my blog, and I get to say what’s what around here, then it shall be so. That said, I wouldn’t expect Twitter-sized posts any time soon.

Honestly, I don’t know what to expect. =)

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 23, 2012 in Monday Musings

 

Leave a Reply

 
