RSS

Monday Musings

21 Feb

Late MM this week; I was sick yesterday.

It wasn’t a fun day. I was up until 4am Monday morning coughing and hacking. Yesterday wasn’t much better, and I didn’t come in to work. I was hoping to get some sleep through the day – we bought NyQuil and everything – but it didn’t help. I slept for maybe 15 minutes during the day while the kids napped. I know why I couldn’t sleep, though; I took my Vyvanse that morning thinking I was going in to work.

I finally passed out last night in a complete stupor at around 11:30pm, after watching Tasha play some Diablo 2. I slept all through the night, except for one short stretch around 2:30am when I woke up, went to the bathroom, and vomited about 4 times. Went back to bed and woke up this morning feeling much better.

I have a pretty bad cough still. There’s crap in my lungs and I can’t get it out, even still, but as the day goes on it’s getting better.

Meanwhile I dropped more than $1,000 yesterday on the car. We replaced the tires, breaks (front pads and rear drums), and the front rotors which were apparently “pretty chewed up.” Having to spend money on maintenance really sucks, but I am glad we got it done. I’ve got maybe another 800 in maintenance to do, too, but that’ll have to wait until the next windfall.

 

Speaking of money: I’m working on a couple ideas that may make a little bit of cash. First, I’m building an online check register program that lets me track my finances online. I usually use Quicken for this but when I lost the use of my computer a few months back, I almost lost all track. I decided then that I’d build a simple, online Quicken that I could use. Now I’ve got it almost where I’m comfortable letting other people use it, and it tracks my bills and my balance for me.

Also, very soon I’ll be doing some crafting – crocheting, sewing, etc. I have some talents in these areas so I’ve decided I’m going to strengthen my skills and try and make some cash selling my wares. I’m not sure how far this will take me, or how much time I’ll have for crafting, but we’ll see.

Lastly, my friend Dévo and I are going to be working on gaming automation. Yes, that again – but instead of selling software to people, I think we’re just going to manufacture game currency and sell that. I did this back in 2002 with EverQuest 1 and made about $10k in three months. It would be just plain awesome to see even a 10th of that sort of response – $333 a month for three months would not be unappreciated. =X

 

So that’s been my week. Sorry for the blogging silence of late; I’ll be getting back in the swing of things pretty soon I suspect.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 21, 2012 in Monday Musings

 

Leave a Reply

 
